none
Force poll of instruction to TSX through t-sql?

Question

• Hello,

I have a master server (MSX) to which I enlist several Target Servers (TSX).

Now I want to script this enlistment process and automatically push out some jobs from the MSX.

To verify that the jobs are pushed out to the current TSX, I check if there is a job by that specific name - if that's the case, the script is successfull, otherwise not.

Problem with this is that by default, the TSX has a polling interval of 60seconds. So I would need to pause my script 1min by adding "WAITFOR DELAY '00:01'".

Now of course this works, but it's not the prettiest.. having to wait a whole minute to finish the script.

If I change the polling interval to, let's say, 10seconds, It'd still take 1min to get that instruction out.

I want to know if there is a way to Force Poll to this specific target server through t-sql code?

If I try manually through SSMS, I get an error: This operation requires Q38\B server to be a registered server.  Don't know why, because it really is, and everything else works just fine (push out jobs etc). (this seems to be the case for all my registered servers).

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,

Cloxy

Thursday, December 22, 2011 1:09 PM

Answers

• Sorry, but I can't configure my instances for MSX at the moment. It will be at least a week until I can do that. Catching these two events should cut it: RPC:Completed and SQL:BatchCompleted. Then you would want to work with filters if needed. Filtering on things like Machine name, application name, for instance.
    Tibor Karaszi, SQL Server MVP | web | blog
    Friday, January 06, 2012 11:16 AM

All replies

• Hi Cloxy,

Thank you for your question. 
    I am trying to involve someone more familiar with this topic for a further look at this issue. Sometime delay might be expected from the job transferring. Your patience is greatly appreciated. 
    Thank you for your understanding and support.

Best Regards,
    Peja