none
ssrs report with custom code to validate parameters

Question

• Hello,

I am new to SSRS report administration...

Here is my question....

I have created SSRS report with custom code in which I connected to a database and get the data to validate against the report parameters. It worked fine when i run the report from BIDS. In order to run this I need to change the configuration file's Code Group property by setting to "FullTrust". But when I deployed the report to report manager, it is giving me this error...

Request for the permission of type 'System.Data.SqlClient.SqlClientPermission, System.Data, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089' failed. (rsRuntimeErrorInExpression).

Can some one help this out why there is issue with report server....

Thanks for your help in advance

Friday, March 16, 2012 5:17 AM

Answers

• Hi,

For security reason, you should change following two groups toFullTrustin three configure files, please follow these steps to allow executing the custom code:

1.Open these three files:

1).RSPreviewPolicy which located at C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE\PrivateAssemblies

2).rsmgrpolicy which located at C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSRS10_50.MSSQLSERVER\Reporting Services\ReportManager

3).rssrvpolicy which located at C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSRS10_50.MSSQLSERVER\Reporting Services\ReportServer

2. Change the PermissionSetName of the following 2 groups from “Execution” to “FullTrust”:

<CodeGroup

class="UnionCodeGroup"

version="1"

PermissionSetName="FullTrust"

Name="Report_Expressions_Default_Permissions"

Description="This code group grants default permissions for code in report expressions and Code element.">

</CodeGroup>

<CodeGroup

class="FirstMatchCodeGroup"

version="1"

Description="This code group grants MyComputer code Execution permission. ">

<IMembershipCondition

class="ZoneMembershipCondition"

version="1"

Zone="MyComputer" />