none
rule 'Setup account privileges' failed. the account that is running sql server setup does not have one or both of the following rights: the right to backup files and directories, and the right to manage auditing and the security log.

Question

• Hi 

I am very new to preparing installation kit. i wanted to install SQL Express 2008 with full text search option via installation kit.  i have administrator rights in my system and as well in in administrators group.  for past couple days i have been looking several web sites. i don't have any luck and i am getting this error message "rule 'Setup account privileges' failed.the account that is running sql server setup does not have one or both of the following rights: the right to backup files and directories, and the right to manage auditing and the security log. to continue, use an account with both of these rights."

FYI i m using my command line options as

/action=install /Features=SQL,FullText /INSTANCENAME=MyInstance  /IACCEPTSQLSERVERLICENSETERMS=true /SQLSVCAccount=""NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM"" /SQLSYSAdminAccounts=""NT AUTHORITY\Network Service"" /SQLSVCStartUpType=""automatic"" /AGTSVCAccount=""NT AUTHORITY\Network Service"" /AGTSVCStartUpType=""automatic"" /SQLCollation= ""SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AI"" /SecurityMode=SQL /SAPWD=""vinoth"" /SQLUSERDBDIR=""c:\sqldata"" /SQLUSERDBLOGDIR=""c:\sqlLogs"" SQLBackupDir= ""c:\backups""  /SQLTempdbDir=""c:\sqldata"" /SQLTempdbLogDir=""c:\sqldata""  /FileStreamLevel=1 /ErrorReporting=0 /SQMReporting=0 

Help me fix this problem.

Advance thanks 

Friday, August 09, 2013 7:17 AM

Answers

• Hello,

Ok. Let’s try to confirm that the account you are using to install SQL Server has all the privileges required. Please open the Command Prompt with the “Run as Administrator” option, and run the following command:

C:\> whoami /priv

You have to see listed the following user rights:

SeBackupPrivilege
    SeDebugPrivilege
    SeSecurityPrivilege

Hope this helps.

Regards,