none
Loop through to check if pram=ID or if it Exists. if so insert, if not skip to next ID

Question

• I am new to SQL statements and I have an application that a user can insert an Alert and delete an Alert so the ID skips around. ex. 10, 11, 14, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23... and so on. I have got my query to execute and populate the alerts but it is populating duplicates. Where the ID skips around it is populating the previous Alert as it loops. I need it to see if the Alert ID exists first, then loop through to insert it, then either go to next ID or see if the next number Exists in the IDs. I have tried a bunch of statements, most may look alittle silly but as I said I am new to SQL statements. But I have only listed a few below. Alittle assistance would be greatly appreciated.

I would like to find a solution as such if @i = id then loop. but I am willing to try anythng at this point.

Again thanks

DECLARE @COUNT INT

--DECLARE @i_alertid INT

DECLARE @MAXID INT

SET @COUNT = 1

----------------Things I have tried but no luck---------------------

--IF EXISTS (select max(alertid) from client_alerts)

--IF Exists(select * from client_alert where scheduleid = @count)

--set @maxid = (select max(scheduleid)from client_alerts)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

While (@count<=@maxid)

BEGIN

--------Select statements for  Gathering my table inro for insert

BEGIN

insert into NotesHistory (Oppid, clientid, userid, notedate, note)

values(@oppid, @clientID, @empid, @alertdate, @alertdesc)

END

SET @count = (@count + 1)

END

Thursday, November 22, 2012 4:10 AM

Answers

• Where does this below record come from?

@oppid, @clientID, @empid, @alertdate, @alertdesc

You can have a pre-check to see if the relevant record does not exist, then you do the insert.

Many Thanks & Best Regards, Hua Min

Friday, November 23, 2012 1:34 AM