none
How to STUnion a STIntersect

Domanda

• Please excuse if this has been covered elsewhere but I'm relatively new to Spatial elements within SQL Server.

I'm looking to create a proc in SQL server that when passed a simple polygon, will check a table to see if the new polygon intersects any existing polygons in that table.  If it does, Union the polygon to the existing ones.  If no intersect exists add the original polygon to the table as a new record.

I think it sounds simple but am struggling to find a solution.

Many thanks for any help.

WJRH

venerdì 16 marzo 2012 02:44

Tutte le risposte

• If I’m not mistaken, what you want to return is the spatial union of all the polygons in the table that intersect an input polygons. If you have SQL Server 2012 or SQL Azure Database, this would be the SQL code in the stored procedure below (where @g is your input polygon, @gout is you union of all the polygons that intersect it).  In this example, I’m using a dbo.Congress table that has a column named shapegeog to match against.

create proc dbo.UnionIntersect (@g geography, @gout geography output)
    as
    with w as
    (select shapegeog from dbo.congress
    where shapegeog.STIntersects(@g) = 1
    )
    select @gout = geography::UnionAggregate(w.shapegeog) from w;

If you want to include the input polygon in the union, you could change it to:

create proc dbo.UnionIntersect (@g geography, @gout geography output)
    as
    with w as
    union all
    select @g
    )

-- invoke it like this
    declare @a geography = 'POLYGON((-124.5 44.5, -122.5 44.5, -122.5 45.3, -124.5 45.3, -124.5 44.5))';
    declare @b geography;
    exec UnionIntersect @a, @b output;
    select @b;

Just change the procedure slightly (remove references to the @gout variable)  to return the output geography as a one column, one row resultset.

If you don’t have SQL Server 2012 or SQL Azure Database you can get this aggregate from the SQL Server Spatial Tools project on Codeplex.

Cheers, Bob