none
SQL Server Management Studio - disconnect from Object Explorer whenever a new database is queried

질문

• Hi all

I am having a very odd issue with my local SQL Sever Management Studio installation.  

Until recently I have been connecting to a server using a Remote Desktop, and having no issues at all.  I can still do this without any issue.  However, we decided to install Management Tools and ever since I've had issues if I connect via that.

Firstly, I had to change the timeout settings to '0' actually connect as it kept timing out.

Secondly, whenever I create a new query, I get disconnected, then automatically reconnected, and then the query itself runs.  If I run subsequent queries in the same query window, there are no issues, but as soon as I open a new one the same thing happens.

Can anyone cast light on what may be causing this?

I am fairly new to this so if you need logs etc please let me know how to get them and I will post them here.

Thanks in advance

2011년 12월 6일 화요일 오전 3:05

모든 응답

• I gather you mean that you've installed SSMS on your local PC and no longer connect to the server using Remote Desktop and use SSMS in the remote desktop environment?

The problem sounds like a network related issue, not a SQL Server issue.  If it was a SQL Server issue, you would experience the same problems using SSMS in the Remote Desktop environment.

Jeff Wharton
    MSysDev (C.Sturt), MDbDsgnMgt (C.Sturt), MCT, MCPD, MCITP, MCDBA
    Blog: Mr. Wharty's Ramblings
    MC ID: Microsoft Transcript

Please mark answered if I've answered your question and vote for it as helpful to help other user's find a solution quicker
    2011년 12월 6일 화요일 오전 10:42
  • Hi NBanbury,

Since you could connect a server using Remote Desktop, it may not be problem in network.
    If it is something with SQL Server, you could reinstall SQL Server Management Studio.
    How to configure SQL Server to allow remote connections: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/914277.

Thanks,
    Maggie