none
SQL 2008 SSIS and SSRS Licensing issue

คำถาม

• Hi,

I am a DBA and we are not allowed to access the database server via rdp.So, I have installed SQL tools:BIDS,SSMS,Integration services , SQL reports configuration manager ,Performance tools on my workstation so that i can connect to database server remotely. As actually live integration/reporting services are running on remote database server ;I am just wondering do i need to buy a full SQL Server license to connect to remote computer from my workstation.I would appreciate your response.

Thanks

Harinder

10 พฤษภาคม 2555 9:01

คำตอบ

• I am a DBA and we are not allowed to access the database server via rdp.So, I have installed SQL tools:BIDS,SSMS,Integration services , SQL reports configuration manager ,Performance tools on my workstation so that i can connect to database server remotely. As actually live integration/reporting services are running on remote database server ;I am just wondering do i need to buy a full SQL Server license to connect to remote computer from my workstation.I would appreciate your response.

the answer is - yes and no - it depends on your current installation.

what you definitively need is to correctly license the access to the SQL Server on the remote server. this can either be a user or device CAL if the SQL Server is using a CAL based licensing model. if the SQL Server is processor based licensed or if it is a SQL Server 2008 Express edition you don't need a license to access the data.

if you're install a SQL Server 2008 or one of its features (SSRS, SSIS, SSAS) on your local computer you need to buy a full SQL Server license for your computer. The license for the SQL Server components SSRS, SSIS or SSAS can't be transfer to a separate server and is always bound to the SQL Server database engine component.