none
How to return sets of values based on condition in SQL Server 2005?

问题

• I am a beginner in SQL Server 2005 stored procedure. I can't seem to get it working as wanted.

I have a sp that takes in parameter @caseid from a table called annot. @caseid is assigned to value of column src_caseid and can have multiple references (ref_caseid) or none in table annot. I want to set a condition and set proper shepardsflag depending on the column court from table case which I did using INNER JOIN.

Basically this is the scenario:

Table annot - ref_caseid, src_caseid, annotation
    Table case - caseid, court

Example of set of results from the INNER JOIN on ref_caseid = caseid like this:

ref_caseid   src_caseid   annotation    court
      17334         17338        Refd       high court
      17600         17338        Foll       federal court
      18271         17338        Foll       federal court
      43220         17338        Not Foll   supreme court

Condition to be set:
    From the recordset, if federal court exists, it should only take rows of federal court. If NO federal court is found, then it will take other cases with other court values.

To achieve this, I set a counter for federal court counts. But seems that SQL only reads the last row and set @courtFC value based on it. I've tried order by but doesn't seem working as well. Why is the counter being reset to based on the last record found?

From sample above, the final shepardsflag value of case 17338 should be = 3 (value of @shep for 'Foll') as it should take rows with "federal court" only AND ignore the rest of the rows.

But the current result is shepardsflag = 2 ; which is wrong

I hope I explain well.

Can someone please help me on the right logic? Should I create a temp table? Thanks in advance.

Script:

[code]
    ALTER PROCEDURE [dbo].[spUpdateShepardsFlags] @caseid int = null AS
    begin
    declare @Shep int
    declare @ref_caseid int
    declare @court int
    declare @courtFC int