none
After Clone, Win7 VM Never Fully Boots "Starting Windows"

Question

• I just setup my SCVMM environment on a 2008 R2 SP1 server so I'm very new to the application.  These are the steps I did. Did I do something wrong and/or is there something else I should try?

1. I created a golden image of a win7 vm on one of our hosts and sysprepped it. The sysprep method I used is the same method I use on every physical win7 machine.  It can be found here: http://theitbros.com/sysprep-a-windows-7-machine-%E2%80%93-start-to-finish
    2. The vm was in the off state after sysprep.  I then went to SCVMM and cloned it. No errors.
    3. I then started the cloned vm and it's hung up at "Starting Windows" screen. 
    Wednesday, March 14, 2012 4:20 PM

All replies

• Have you tried rebooting the VM (forcing a reboot)?

I ask because I have seen similar behavior with cloned VMs and WIM images to physical systems.  Seems to be something happening in the hardware detection that is getting hung up.

Any custom settings in your unattend.xml?  Such as the setting to not-redetect legacy hardware (this sometimes gets over issues).

Also, did you fully update the VM and install the Integration Components before sysprep?

(just asking the questions, I am sure that other folks will have ideas as well)

Brian Ehlert (hopefully you have found this useful)
    http://ITProctology.blogspot.com
    Learn. Apply. Repeat.
    Disclaimer: Attempting change is of your own free will.

• Marked as answer by ajcke Wednesday, March 14, 2012 6:17 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by ajcke Tuesday, March 20, 2012 2:37 PM
    Wednesday, March 14, 2012 4:51 PM
  • It appears the issue is with my win7 vm.  I just started it up and it does the same thing as the cloned vm.  I can check off the list that cloning in scvmm works.  Now on to figure out why my sysprep method isn't working on vm's. 

THANKS!

Wednesday, March 14, 2012 6:17 PM