none
SCSM 2012 RC - Email Notifications - From a scsm noob

Question

• Hi all,

Lets start from the correct place; I'm an SCSM noob :-)

I'm trying to get my head around SCSM 2012 and one of the first things I want to setup (which will hopefully start me off in the right direction) is setting up email notifications to engineers when they have been assigned an incident.

I have users in the system and have created a notification channel with my email server, using the Workflow 'run as account' user's email address as the return address. I have logged onto the Management server as the Workflow user and sent mail via telnet so I know that works and I have a 'Assigned To User Notification' template.

What more do I have to do to get the system to email the assigned engineers?

The documentation is a little light

Cheers

Dave

Dave
    Monday, February 06, 2012 2:02 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Dave,

Take a look here:
    http://blogs.technet.com/b/servicemanager/archive/2009/12/15/custom-notification-workflow-on-incident-assignement-or-re-assignment.aspx

Regards
    //Anders

Anders Asp | Lumagate | www.lumagate.com | Sweden | My blog: www.scsm.se
    Monday, February 06, 2012 2:16 PM
  • if you are looking at re-assignment, you could maybe also look at a workflow like the following.

Lets say you want a workflow to kick off and notify the new assigned user that a call has been assigned to them.

you can do it through the console for a limited number of users.

Workflow

-> when updated

-> changed from "not equal to user b"

-> changed to "does equal user b"

send "designated e-mail template" to "assigned to user"

hope this makes sense.

As long as you learn something new every day, the day is not wasted.
    Monday, February 06, 2012 2:27 PM
  • Hi Fletcher

Interestingly, the 'Changed from' is not expandable so I cannot select the 'Assigned to User'. See below.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Dave

Dave
    Monday, February 06, 2012 4:22 PM
  • Hi Anders,