none
Report for matching names

    Question

  • Hello,

    the organization I work has computers that often move departments and it seems when a computer is renamed in AD it doesnt update the record in SCCM. Is there a way for me to report on the asset tag of a computer? This asset tag is not hard coded into the computer but is part of the computer name. so for instance a computer could have been named RC1IS11111111 but was renamed to RC2IS11111111. So I would need to report on the 11111111, ofcourse that number changes. I want to see all duplicates...

    Thanks

    Monday, March 12, 2012 2:36 PM

Answers

  • try this.

    http://tinyurl.com/74ltkzf


    http://www.enhansoft.com/

    • Marked as answer by RCCMG Monday, March 12, 2012 4:33 PM
    Monday, March 12, 2012 3:54 PM
    Moderator
  • Actually there is a typo in it.. I used “5” for the starting point, however I should have use "6", as this is the first character of the TAG.

    Change all three "5" to "6".



    http://www.enhansoft.com/

    • Marked as answer by RCCMG Monday, March 12, 2012 4:33 PM
    Monday, March 12, 2012 4:07 PM
    Moderator

All replies

  • Yes you can do that but the question is, is the asset tag always the last 10 character of the PC name? <o:p></o:p>



    http://www.enhansoft.com/

    Monday, March 12, 2012 2:41 PM
    Moderator
  • Sorry maybe a bad example. The asset tag is always the numbers.

    Monday, March 12, 2012 2:47 PM
  • But is it always the last 8 characters or can it vary for 5 to 10 characters?

    http://www.enhansoft.com/

    Monday, March 12, 2012 2:55 PM
    Moderator
  • Generally they are 7 numbers but some are 4-6.
    Monday, March 12, 2012 2:57 PM
  • Because it is a range it will be difficult to write a query for it. Furthermore it will be hard to compare it to other as a TAG simply because 54321 will match 4321 if you only compare the last 4 characters. In order to make this work you need to define something unique about the PC Name, in order to use that as a key. so what is your naming standard? What can be used as a key?

    http://www.enhansoft.com/

    Monday, March 12, 2012 3:10 PM
    Moderator
  • write up simple query that pulls all the machine name from Database and use Right function to get only last 7 letters from computer name.

    function looks like

    Select RIGHT('Hello1234567',7) will give '1234567'

    if it varies from 4-6 or something,would be difficult to trace all in one report


    Please click on "vote as Helpful" if you feel this post helpful to you.

    Eswar Koneti | My Tech blog: www.eskonr.com | Linkedin: Eswar Koneti

    Monday, March 12, 2012 3:13 PM
  • Our naming standard goes like this :

    Building Code : First 3 characters - RC1 (This will change depending on building)

    Department Code : Characters 4 and 5 - IS (This again will change depending on department)

    Asset Tag : Last 7 characters - This always stays the same as it is the tag we also use for inventory.

    Monday, March 12, 2012 3:15 PM
  • Hi RCCMG,

    try the below query which will full fill your requirement.

    SELECT DISTINCT RIGHT (SYS.NAME0, 8) as 'Computer Name', OPSYS.CAPTION0 AS 'Operating System', OPSYS.CSDVERSION0 AS 'Service Pack', SYS1.USER_NAME0 AS 'User Name' FROM V_GS_SYSTEM AS SYS
    JOIN V_GS_OPERATING_SYSTEM AS OPSYS ON OPSYS.RESOURCEID=SYS.RESOURCEID
    JOIN V_R_SYSTEM AS SYS1 ON SYS1.RESOURCEID=SYS.RESOURCEID

    Ur's -> SithaYuvaraj.

    Monday, March 12, 2012 3:25 PM
  • Thanks but that gives me 3700 results and without filtering doesnt just give me duplicates.
    Monday, March 12, 2012 3:28 PM
  • try this.

    http://tinyurl.com/74ltkzf


    http://www.enhansoft.com/

    • Marked as answer by RCCMG Monday, March 12, 2012 4:33 PM
    Monday, March 12, 2012 3:54 PM
    Moderator
  • Well, assuming that is working as I want it gives me 4 records. If that is the case SCCM is a lot cleaner then I thought. Thanks for the help!
    Monday, March 12, 2012 3:56 PM
  • Actually there is a typo in it.. I used “5” for the starting point, however I should have use "6", as this is the first character of the TAG.

    Change all three "5" to "6".



    http://www.enhansoft.com/

    • Marked as answer by RCCMG Monday, March 12, 2012 4:33 PM
    Monday, March 12, 2012 4:07 PM
    Moderator
  • Looks better. A few more results, mainly servers. Thanks Garth.
    Monday, March 12, 2012 4:33 PM