none
Correct way to capture/deploy Windows 7 image with Sysprep configured to copy default profile

Question

• I am new to SCCM and converting to it from Altiris.  I understand the redcommended way of imaging with SCCM is to do a 'vanilla' OS deployment with very little on it and than using task sequences deploy all my required software.  However being that I am in a school district, we have always done things a bit differently than the corporate world, specifically when we build our images we put pretty much everything on the image, meaning all required software like Office, Adobe, etc.  Basically what we do is get everything installed and updated, configured how we want it, run all the programs once, and then using Windows 7 verison of sysprep, i run sysprep with the appropriate switches using an unattended answer file i have, then when the machine shuts down, i capture the image with Altiris and then can deploy that image at will and it works great.  Basically what the answer file does for me among some minor things, is it copies the user account I configured with over the built in default profile (MS recommended way) so when users login and builds their profile off the default profile which is set to go - no EULA pop-ups, no first time run dialogs, nothing to accept, etc.

My question is can something similar to this be done with SCCM?  Where I have my image built the way I want, have it sysprep with my answer file to create the default profile, and then be able to deploy that image?  If so can someone please provide some details how it can be done.  If it can't, any recommended alternatives, though I'd really rather not reinvent the wheel here after so many years.  Thank you very much!

Brian Stein
    • Moved by John Marcum [MVP]MVP Wednesday, June 01, 2011 12:47 PM (From:Configuration Manager General)
    Wednesday, June 01, 2011 12:42 PM

All replies

• Hi,