none
Opinion on best way to add Company Asset Tag and Monitor information information into SCCM

Question

• First off, thanks for the help, and sorry, I am new to SCCM...

I need to be able to add company asset tag number information about my machines in SCCM and am looking for opinions on how best to get this information into SCCM and how to add this "custom field" (for lack of a better term) to be viewed in an inventory report.  Also, my company wants us to track computer monitors, which also have an company asset tag (different tag number from associated computer, but, needs to be associated with the computer connected to it), any good way to have SCCM detect monitor information, associate it to a computer and also get company asset tag information associated with the monitor?  Thanks in advance for the help!!

Tuesday, February 01, 2011 2:22 AM

Answers

• Hello - Yes, it is possible to collect these details.

Go through the below thread to get more info on this.

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/configmgrai/thread/55713e36-8b4d-4d4f-8689-01aa10cf6f07

Extracted from the thread

Dan Boldo [MSFT]<abbr class="affil">Microsoft</abbr>

Asset Intelligence was not built to be a full end-to-end asset management tracking solution. It was built to collect asset information from machines running the SMS/SCCM client and then cross reference the collected data with the existing knowledge base aka the catalog. 

In this case, you can get the internal asset number from PCs running the SMS/SCCM client by opting for one of the following two options: 

1. Use the Hardware 1A report (Summary of Computers in a Specific Collection) which contains among other things, the client's serial umber and asset tag. Note that the Asset Tag is a usually a user editable field in the BIOS and could be tagged with any custom value you opt to enter (e.g. your internal asset manager numbers)