none
Turning off Program Compatibility Assistant

Dotaz

• Hi! I've been trying to turn off Program Compatibility Assistant via gpedit.msc in my Vista machine. So I went to Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Application Compatibility, and then set "Turn Off Program Compatibility Assistant" to "Enabled". This also gets reflected in the registry HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\AppCompat!DisablePCA of value 1.

But when I install an application with known compatibility issues such as SQL Server 2005, I still get the PCA window Sad

Help please! I would like to find a way to turn off PCA (tried turning off the Application Compatibility Engine. No PCA window, but I'm getting an error that I need to run with admin priviledges even though I'm an admin user). This is working in a Windows Server 2008 machine, but can't make it work in Vista.

Thanks in advance...

5. září 2008 0:21

Odpovědi

• Hi,

Yes, Domain Policy may override Local Group Policy.

You can refer the following link:

Group Policy processing and precedence

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc785665.aspx

Hope it helps.

9. září 2008 9:46
    Moderátor

Všechny reakce

• Hi,

Normally, the changes will disable the PCA. However, in your case, I suggest you check whether the new group policy apply to your computer.

Check group policy result

========================

1.Click Start, type rsop.msc and press Enter.

2.Please check Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Application Compatibility. Does it exist?

Thank you for your cooperation.

8. září 2008 8:53
    Moderátor
  •