none
Vista to Windows 7 Migration

Question

• Greetings,

I'm a private tech consultant and am looking for a tool that will migrate files contained in the Program Files portfolio under Vista to the same under Windows 7.  Will the USMT  tool do this, or does MS have a similar or other tool to be used for a Windows 7 migration?  Or am I completely barking up the wrong tree?

Regards....
    Saturday, September 12, 2009 2:18 PM

Answers

• Hi Blair

If you are wanting to migrate all of the files and user settings from Vista to Windows 7, you can use the Windows Easy Transfer (WET) utility or the User State Migration Tool (USMT). This depends on the situation.

The WET is made for migrating a single or small number of computers and the USMT is designed to migrate a very large number of computers.

These utilities are made to move user files and settings, but not the installed software programs or applications, when performing a clean install. If you want to migrate everything, including the installed software programs, then the best option is to perform an upgrade install and not a clean install.

Windows Easy Transfer for Windows 7 - Windows Experience Blog

User State Migration Tool 4.0 User's Guide

Hope this helps.

Thank You for testing Windows 7

Ronnie Vernon MVP
    Saturday, September 12, 2009 4:16 PM
  • I have Vista Ultimate 64-bit installed on my computer. If I buy the upgrade Windows 7, do I just install the upgrade Windows 7 and all my files and software remain, or do I have to reinstall drivers, software, etc.?

Hi Cavicchi

You can buy the Windows 7 Ultimate Upgrade and do this.

From the Vista desktop, just insert the Windows 7 disk and select the Upgrade install. All of your programs and settings will remain intact.

Download and install the  Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor  on that system.

This utility will generate a report that identifies any known software/hardware/driver incompatibilities that may be present on that system.