none
My 500Gig External USB Hard Drive not recognized by 64 bit Win 7

Question

• I have 64 bit Windows 7 running and have an WD (Western Digital) External HD that i have been using for the past 4 months on my Win 7 32 Bit laptop. It works fine on 32 bit, but when i connect it to 64 bit Windows 7, Win 7 Fails to recognize it and says "USB Not Recognized". 
    The Disk Management does not show the External Disk At all.
    There are no Letter Conflicts between Laptop Drive and The External Drive Partitions.
    I have updated using Windows Update, nad have installed the Hotfix http://support.microsoft.com/kb/944292 but in Vain. 

THe Drive is Working fine, its a Win 7 64 Bit Problem. Please suggest a fix for this so that My External Drive can work. 

Wednesday, March 17, 2010 3:42 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Do your HDs need extra power supply when you connect it to your machine?

As you can find a Unknown Device in the Device manager, your trouble should be caused by the driver, or the faulty USB port.

Please connect your HDs via another ports as a test. In addition, you'd better to apply the latest Chipset driver from the Acer offical website according to your system version:

http://support.acer.com/drivers_download.aspx

After that, test again. If they are still fail be recongized, please try the following steps to reinstall USB controllers with the Keyboard:

First, please disconnect all USB devices. Then, go through the following steps:

1. Press "Ctrl + Esc" to open the Start Menu. 
    2. Type Device Manager in the Search bar and press "Enter". Click Continue if necessary.
    3. In Device Manger, press Tab and use "Up" and "Down" to move the highlight to "Universal Serial Bus Controllers".
    4. Press "Right" and expand it.
    5. Press "Down" to move to the first item and press "Delete" to remove it.
    6. Repeat the step 5 and uninstall all items under "Universal Serial Bus Controllers".

After that, please test again.

Good luck!

John