none
ATI HDMI output not plugged in

Question

• I have a Dell Inspiron 400 Zino HD (mini computer hooked up to my A/V system). It has a ATI Radeon HD 4330 512MB graphics card and a AMD Athlon 3250e Processor. The OS is Windows 7 Premium 64bit. I'm running HDMI out of the computer to a Denon A/V receiver. When I first hooked it up everything was working great, then the sound stopped. In the  "Manage Audio Devices" section it shows ATI HDMI output "not plugged in". I have read many posts with the same issue. I have done many of the things suggested, including:

swapping HDMI cables

swapping inputs on the Denon

uninstalling and reinstalling the ATI High Definition Audio Device through Device Manager

Installing different drivers for the device (downloaded from Realtek)

installing/updating the ATI CCC software

Please Help, I'm not a computer expert. I'm getting very frustrated!

Tuesday, November 30, 2010 11:34 PM

Answers

All replies

• If you uninstall the graphics driver and reboot the system sees only the onboard audio device as available and automatically defaults to that.

Right click the sound icon in the notification area and select "Playback devices". Then set ATI HDMI as the default output device.

Wednesday, December 01, 2010 6:51 AM
  • Thanks for the advice. I uninstalled the Drivers to both the ATI High Definition Audio Device and the ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330. I did this through the Sound, Video and Game Controllers and the Display Adapters sections of Device Manager. I still get "Not Plugged In" for the ATI HDMI Output in Manage Audio Devices?
    Wednesday, December 01, 2010 7:50 PM
  • Please download the audio driver here and install it.

Drivers & Downloads for Inspiron Desktop 400(Zino HD)

Important Note: Microsoft provides third-party contact information to help you find technical support. This contact information may change without notice. Microsoft does not guarantee the accuracy of this third-party contact information.