none
Any way to get my Microsoft Arcade (and other 16-bit) Icons back?

Question

• Ok, so I installed Windows 3.1 Microsoft Arcade and Return of Arcade on Windows 7.  Because I like the classic arcade games "Battlezone" and "Missile Command" and "Pole Position" and Centipede .........

AND THEY ALL WORK !!

BUT ..... they have no (or, more correctly, generic) icons in the start menu.  I know, they are 16-bit icons and support for this was taken out of Windows 7 (Booo, Hisssss; contrary to the official Microsoft view, some of still use a few Windows 3.1 programs (yes, I have more of them than just Arcade and Return of Arcade ... actually, about a dozen more that I still routinely use) that otherwise work.

So, does anyone have a work-around?  Is there a way of extracting the icons into some kind of resource library of just Icons?  [I am not a Windows programmer, but I am a computer engineer and know my way around pretty well.]

Any work-arounds would be appreciated.
    Monday, January 04, 2010 1:11 PM

Answers

• Hey Barry,

I thought I was the only one who has all those type games.  I've got things like the original Tetris for Windows, Chip's Challenge, and JezzBall.

They don't show icons for me either, but I never found a workaround.  I suppose I could create shortcuts to the EXE's and set my own icons, but I can't even find the original icons for the games.  My guess is that the Windows-On-Windows 16-Bit emulator can't read the header from the exe files, but who knows.  I'd love an answer to this as well.

PS.  The fact that these work is a crazy demonstration of the backwards compatibility in Windows.  Things from 20 years ago still run!

If this was helpful, please vote. If it solves the issue, please click Propose as Answer. Thanks!
    Monday, January 04, 2010 7:05 PM

All replies

• Hey Barry,

I thought I was the only one who has all those type games.  I've got things like the original Tetris for Windows, Chip's Challenge, and JezzBall.