none
in windows 7 all files in external drives open in read-only mode

Question

• I have the following problem in Windows 7 in both computers that I work in:

when I connect an external hard disk, when I open a document (either word, or excel, or autocad) and I work in it, then when I save it there is a message telling me that the file is read-only and I cannot update the same file but only save as.. so I have to create a different file. Does anybody know what to do to remove this write protection. I would like to clarify that when I copy files in the hard disk I do not encounter any problems.

Sunday, February 05, 2012 8:10 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Please check the security settings of these files.

Also, I would like to advise that some external drive has a read-protected switch, check the slide switch is on off side.

Juke Chou

TechNet Community Support

Wednesday, February 08, 2012 4:08 PM
  • Hi thanks for the answer.

The problem persists. I would like to note that when I put the same external drive in a machine running vista I don't encounter the same problem. It doesn't have to do with the settings of the files but with some setting windows 7 have.

Monday, February 20, 2012 6:50 AM
  • Hi,

Maybe the administrator has not been given read permission, so Windows 7 cannot access these files. Please check security tab of these files, give administrator full control.

Juke Chou

TechNet Community Support

Thursday, February 23, 2012 10:38 AM