none
a connection to the deployment share could not be made.

Question

• Hello there.

I am very new to MDT 2010, so please take it easy.

I was running the RC and managed to successfully build a test Win7 image from a Reference machine. I did this by deploying the standard Enterprise image, but rather than 'capture' it straight after, I did some test tweeking to the image, as this is what our company requires.

Once happy, from the reference machine, I opened up the "litetouch.vbs" script from the DeploymentShare$\Scripts and invoked a 'sysprep and capture' task I had previous created. This ran perfectly, created my custom OS back to the server and I was then able to deploy it to my test target.

OK - so I was quite excited by all this - so far, so good.

Yesterday, I installed the new 'final release' of MDT 2010 and I spent some more time on my reference machine, making sure it was 'perfect' as a base release.

Once happy, I browsed back the DeploymentShare$ to run "litetouch.vbs" and although the wizard does start, allowing me to choose a Task Sequence and take me through credentials - at the end of the wizard, it just ends - no job is started.

Sometimes when I run the .vbs, I get a 'wizard error' popup ...  "A connection to the deployment share () could not be made. The deployment will not proceed".

Things I have done: rebooted both client and server. Recreated the 'sysprep and capture' job. Updated the MDT.

Can anyone help?
    Friday, September 11, 2009 8:51 AM

Answers

• I hit this problem yesterday with two Dell PCs. I use MDT 2010.

The error message was totally off...

The problem in BOTH cases was caused by bad local hard drives. Diskpart's "clean" fixed the problem.

Thursday, September 30, 2010 6:03 PM

All replies

• i am having the same issue i think. After you begin the TS go to C:\MININT\SMSOSD\OSDLOGS and open the bdd.log. I bet you see something like this.