none
7 RTM, need a way to restore the "keep taskbar on top of other windows" option, Top Taskbar user...

Question

• I have tried the only steps that I could find to restore the "keep taskbar on top of other windows" option, in Windows 7 RTM. But they get over written each time I try.

This is a "feature" that needs to be available in Windows 7. I have used my taskbar at the top of the screen for many years (after years of using it at the bottom of the screen and getting a sore neck after many hours of use looking down at the TB). Think of it as a Ergo style, using the taskbar at the top (I don't get a sore neck anymore), anyway one of the settings I have always used was to "uncheck" the "keep taskbar on top of other windows" option, this allowed great flexibility with the windows I use during the day. BTW I am a System Engineer and spend a greater part of the day staring at computer displays. I have never had any issue with finding the taskbar when needed (some have said that this change was to keep people from losing the taskbar behind other windows).

Think of it this way; I am being denied using the complete/entire desktop for the window of my choice, the taskbar is always there on the screen now and limits my use of the complete/entire desktop. I really feel that this is a reduction of my resources and limits my capabilities.

Please O great and wonderful MSFT Devs, please hear my prayers and return the "keep taskbar on top of other windows" option, in future hotfixes and/or patches, I promise not to ____ and moan about simple things again, Amen/Awomen (we have to be equal nowdays, Devs are both)

Thanks
    Monday, August 31, 2009 11:00 PM

Answers

• Hi rsharkey1,

Thanks for your reply.