none
Installing Microsoft Touch Mouse, Microsoft Nano Transceiver v1.0, and Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Detection Driver All Fail (as does windows update)

Question

• First off, I have done my homework.  I'm a software architect myself and don't give up easily! And I've keyworded this article with all of the relevant information so others can find the fix when we get it lined out, I hope it helps.

This happens on very plain install of Windows 7 64bit, SP1, Microsoft Touch Mouse with a Microsoft Nano Transceiver v1.0.

Let's forget that I have a new Microsoft Touch Mouse because the problem seems to actually be when installing the Microsoft Nano Transceiver v1.0.  With the mouse off, when I just plug this small usb key in, the system recognizes it for what it is but says that it fails with the standard fail screen. "Device driver was not successfully installed.  Microsoft Nano Transceiver v1.0"

If you go into Devices and Printers, click on the one with the yellow caution symbol, Microsoft Nano Transceiver v1.0, it will take you to the properties, clicking the hardware tab it says "Device Status: Reinstall the drivers for this device. Code 18". 

Where it gets interesting, clicking properties it says this: "C:\Windows\system32\WdfCoInstaller01009.dll is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error."  If you browse to that file, I see that the file date is 7/28/2011, barely 1 month old.  So it was obviously updated very recently.

I try trusty windows update, and luckily it finds an important update (ONLY when the transceiver usb is plugged in).  The update seems immensely relevant, it's called "Microsoft - Other Hardware - Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Detection Driver (USB)".  But it fails installation with the very helpful "Windows Update encountered an unknown error. Code 800F020B (code changes every attempt)".  This is really rare here because remember, this is a very plain install of Windows 7.