none
Explorer: How to get folders to appear AFTER files and in alphabetical order

General discussion

• This is for a customer; I fix PCs for a living. PC is Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit OS .
    However, I would not get carried away with the OS as I can not figure out how to do this with Windows XP 32 bit. The folder contents are displayed as a LIST in all cases. The folder is the Documents library OR the C;\users\username\My Documents folder BUT I AM QUITE SURE THE issue exists for any explorer window or WIn 7 (explorer) library.

Customer claims (and I have not verified this) that his previous PC running Vista 64 bit OS had folders listed after files and both folders and files were in alphabetical order.

The question is how do I do that in the listed OS
    . This is what I have tried. In Menu bar (above the directory display and that is not the default and I had to add it somehow) I do View>Sort by>Name AND the folders get listed beneath the files as my customer wants BUT both folders and files are in reverse alphabetical order. If I click Name again (which is a toggle) it reverses to folders above files and in alphabetical order. If instead I try to use the ascending or descending choices ALSO in the view>Sort by menu (i.e select the one that was NOT selected of the two) it acts EXACTLY like I clicked Name again. ie it goes back to the initial display INSTEAD OF keeping files before folders AND changing things to alphabetical order so THAT does not work either.

View>sort by> type groups pdf and word files etc all in otheir own section of the list and hence is NOT what my customer wants unless it is combined with some other (currently unknown) option.

PLEASE REPLY WITH EXACTLY HOW TO DO THIS. Folder view options are Sort by and Group by and the latter does NOTHING like what I want (I tried it). Document Library options are Sort by and Arrange by and Group by.  The Arrange by also does NOTHING like I want.