none
Your folder can't be shared.

Question

• I am a local administrator on this domain member Windows 7 Professional computer. When I try to share a folder, I get the message "Your folder can't be shared". The folder is on a local USB-attached drive. That is all the message says; it does not provide any further details whatsoever. Also, I cannot seem to find a KB article pertaining to this issue. Very frustrating. Any help would be very much appreciated!

TIA,

Sam "flux"

Tuesday, April 27, 2010 4:18 PM

Answers

• Hi Sam, you can try enabling file sharing in the network properties:

Network and Sharing Center -> Click the current connection -> Status -> Properties

Make sure that "File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks" is checked.

Sean Zhu - MSFT
    Thursday, April 29, 2010 12:53 AM

All replies

• Hi Sam, you can try enabling file sharing in the network properties:

Network and Sharing Center -> Click the current connection -> Status -> Properties

Make sure that "File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks" is checked.

Sean Zhu - MSFT
    Thursday, April 29, 2010 12:53 AM
  • I have the same problem. All possible sharing is turned on and encryption has been downgraded. Everyone has full access for both share and security permissions and I am an administrator of the machine. I can even check the share box in advanced sharing but get the "Your folder can't be shared" message when I try from the context menu. Bottom line is tht the folder is not shared.
    Alan MacKenzie asmac@hotmail.com
    Wednesday, June 02, 2010 5:39 PM
  • I had the same problem. After i disabled the Virtual Machine network adaptor it worked. I turned the VM machine adaptor after the sharing and all is good. Hope theis helps you out.
    • Proposed as answer by stivio Friday, May 17, 2013 6:56 PM
    Wednesday, August 10, 2011 9:43 AM
  • I have Win7x64 with VMWare for other virtual systems and [paulie_] suggestion solved the problem for me correctly, thx.