Windows 8 logon/lock screen screensaver problem

Question

• I am a developer. My software relies on showing a custom screensaver. I tested it under Windows 8 Release Preview (64-bit), English version that was released on May 31, 2012 and the screensaver still works under a logged on user account. The problem happens if the screensaver is installed to show during the logon/lock screen. In this registry key:
    HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Control Panel\Desktop -> "SCRNSAVE.EXE"
    What happens is that instead of a screensaver (during the logon/lock screen) I see just a black screen. This seems to go away if I cancel the black screen by moving the mouse and wait for the screensaver to kick in again. This fixes it and the screensaver displays like it should.
    I thought that the issue was in my own screensaver, so I tried it with the Ribbons.scr that is shipped in the Windows/System32 folder on Windows 8 and the same issue happens there as well.
    Any idea what's going on?
    PS. To reproduce this behavior do the following:
    1. Start the Desktop.
    2. Install the logon/lock screen screensaver. To do that set the following registry values (all REG_SZ type):
    HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Control Panel\Desktop -> "SCRNSAVE.EXE" = "C:\Windows\system32\Ribbons.scr"
    HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Control Panel\Desktop -> "ScreenSaveActive" = 1
    HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Control Panel\Desktop -> "ScreenSaveTimeout" = 60
    3. Lock workstation. The easiest way is to do WindowsKey + R to bring up the Run Dialog and execute this command:
    RUNDLL32 USER32.DLL,LockWorkStation
    4. Wait for a minute when the lock screen is on for the screensaver to kick in. When it does, I get a static black screen. If you cancel it by moving a mouse and wait while in the lock screen again the next time you will see the Ribbons screensaver.

• Edited by ahmd0 Monday, June 04, 2012 8:00 PM
    Monday, June 04, 2012 7:57 PM

Answers

• I will collect your feedback. Thanks for using Windows 8 RP.

Niki Han