none
Far Cry game instalation under x64 windows 7 beta.

Question

• Hi all...

I'm testing the x64 version of the windows 7 beta on my games machine... I've installed Fallout 3 (unpatched) and have no problems with it after hours of play. I've installed COD 4, although I've not tried it yet to see if it works (I still have it installed under my other boot option). So I thought I'd try Far Cry (the original) as I wanted to see the x64 enhancements available for it, I've never used an x64 OS before due to reliability issues I'd heard about.

Unfortunately I can't even get the installer to work. It starts fine, goes through all the install options, then when the instalation actually begins it returns "error -1603"

Looking at this error, it would suggest I don't have administrator priveleges or am running out of disk space... Neither is the case... I have over 200GB of freee disk space split between two drives, Far Cry requires 4GB, so space isn't an issue...

Things I've already tried:

1. Running the setup as administrator.
    2. Running the setup in compatability mode for XP SP2.
    3. Running the setup with both of the above.
    4. Installing to different directories, namely c:/program files/... c:/program files (x86)/... d:/program files/... d:/program files (x86)/...
    5. Using different source dvd's (I have my friends copy here also)

I believe it might be windows defender causing the problem, as it now wants to submit the file F:/setup.exe (F:/ being my DVD drive).

I'll disable defender, reboot and try again... But in case this doesn't work does anybody have any suggestions?

EDIT: Disabling defender makes no difference... I have however got the installer running as I type this. You have to uncheck the "install DirectX 9.0b"

And the installer's just finnished... Now to apply the patches and the x64 patches... Watch this space...
    Tuesday, January 13, 2009 6:51 PM

Answers