none
Microphone output sound delay

Question

• Hello,

I'm a musician. Often, I plug my headphones into my laptop and listen to music. Then I plug my guitar in the microphone jack and enable the microphone sound output so I can play along with the music on my laptop. In other words, I use the laptop as a mixer.
    Now with Windows 7 RC x64, the mic in output has quite some delay, between 0.5 and 1 second. The laptop is an HP 2510p with ADI SoundMax HD integrated audio.
    With Windows XP, this has not been an issue.
    The driver is the one that Win7 automatically got via Windows Update. I also tried the Vista x64 driver provided by HP, no difference.

As you can imagine, such a delay makes playing along songs impossible. When I strike the guitar, half a second later I hear it from the speakers.

Is there any suggestion what I could try? Change settings, regkeys, drivers?

Best regards,

Jay
    Saturday, July 18, 2009 4:37 PM

Answers

• Hi Jay,

This should be a driver issue. The driver update may not be installed properly. I suggest that you remove the driver, and then run Windows Update to install it again.

How to remove.

1. Click Start. In the Start Search box type "devmgmt.msc" and press Enter.
    2. Expand "Sound, video and game controllers", double-click on the entry of the sound card.
    3. Click the tab "Driver", click "Uninstall".
    4. Click Start. In the Start Search box type "appwiz.cpl" and press Enter.
    5. Remove the entries related to the display adapter.

Then, I suggest that you temporary disable the anti-virus, then run Windows Update to install the audio driver.