none
Windows 8 Tiles not working

Question

• When I press a tile, it does nothing.  When I press on Windows store it starts to open and immediately closes.

Tech support live could not help.

Who, how, what when and where are the tiles controlled?  What processes are required to start them up?

I am taking a course in Ethical Hacking and I installed too many things and I am not sure what disabled the functioning of the

tiles.  I am a tech, but have been looking for two days now and no one seems to know what makes a tile function!

Please help, I'm trying to get ready for school!

Monday, July 29, 2013 12:41 AM

Answers

• When I press on Windows store it starts to open and immediately closes.

Others with this symptom have found that they can enter the Store from a web search.  The example given was to search for  Angry Birds  and find a hit which points to the Store.  Do you have connectivity to do that at least?

Good luck
    Robert Aldwinckle
    ---

Robert Aldwinckle
    ---

Monday, July 29, 2013 7:39 PM

All replies

• WD

Your best bet is to do a repair install, you will never figure out every single change you have made.

Wanikiya & Dyami--Team Zigzag

Monday, July 29, 2013 1:09 AM
  • Try the App Troubleshooter (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/p/?LinkId=271185) and look if the registry is fine:

Win8: App: Modern: Apps fail to start if default registry or file permissions modified

https://support.microsoft.com/kb/2798317/en-us

"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

Monday, July 29, 2013 5:38 AM
  • When I press on Windows store it starts to open and immediately closes.

Others with this symptom have found that they can enter the Store from a web search.  The example given was to search for  Angry Birds  and find a hit which points to the Store.  Do you have connectivity to do that at least?

Good luck
    Robert Aldwinckle
    ---

Robert Aldwinckle
    ---

Monday, July 29, 2013 7:39 PM