none
Scheduled Task in Windows 8

Question

• I have just upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 8 and have issues with scheduled tasks. I have the PC set to switch on at 1:50am and then at 2am it is supposed to run a batch file which in turn runs synctoycmd.exe -R. This should run all the folder pairs I have created. The scheduled task is set to run if I am not logged on and I have supplied my user credentials but the task fails every night. The SyncToy log is showing the following error:-

SyncToy configuration file C:\Users\Default\AppData\Local\Microsoft\SyncToy\2.0\SyncToyDirPairs.bin not found.

This would imply the task is being run as the "Default" user. If I look in the same folder structure under my user name "Mark" the bin file is there. If I run the task manually when logged in under my own account it works perfectly.

I have been running this task for a couple years and it has always worked until I upgraded to Windows 8.

Does anyone have any idea why the task is not running as the correct user?

Sunday, November 25, 2012 7:36 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Seems your application wanna look for the bin file under Default user, which is wrong place for it. You may try to specify your user account which is used for running the task or change the action to specify the start in location. If no go, I think Windows 8 may change its way to run the application when user havenot logged in(I mean the default profile would be always loaded) or the applicaton you are using is not fully compatible with Windows 8.

Juke Chou
    TechNet Community Support

Tuesday, November 27, 2012 6:43 AM
  • The task is already set to run as my user "Mark" but seems to ignore this completely and run as "Default User", this same task runs perfectly under Windows 7 if setup exactly the same. This is clearly a Windows 8 issue.
    Sunday, December 02, 2012 3:21 PM
  • Hi,

Either it is a Windows 8 issue or it is by design, anyway, I record this case.

Juke Chou
    TechNet Community Support