none
Unable to save display settings and Multiple Monitors

Question

• Have Windows 7 RTM installed on my laptop and was working great with extending to my monitor. I took my laptop home and hooked it up to my tv and it was fine. Now when I bring it back to work I cannot get the monitor to work. Only the display on the laptop is working. Windows can detect the monitor, but I try to enable the monitor and when I select Apply I get an error message "Unable to save display settings". I am a local administrator on the laptop. How can I extend to my monitor!

Thanks
    • Moved by Carey FrischMVP, Moderator Monday, September 07, 2009 4:00 PM Moved to relevant category (From:Windows 7 Miscellaneous)
    Monday, September 07, 2009 3:58 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Error message " Unable to save display settings" mainly indicates that you try to extend or duplicate the desktop to the two external monitors in addition to the laptop screen. Generally, laptop supports only two displays at one time due to hardware limitation. I suspect that the issue occurs because the laptop remembers both configuration for your extended monitor and TV. To extend your monitor, you need to clear the multiple configuration for your laptop and then extend your display by changing your display settings. To do this, please take the following steps:

Step 1. Delete registry key.
    ==================

1)Press Win + R to open a run box.
    2)In the Run box, type regedit, and then click OK.
    3)Locate the following registry subkey:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\MobilePC\TMM

4)Right-click the subkey that you located in step 2. Then, click Delete.
    5)When you are prompted to confirm the delete operation, click Yes.
    6)On the File menu, click Exit to exit Registry Editor.
    7)Log off the computer. Then, log on to the computer.

Step 2. Extend your display by changing display settings.
    ====================================