none
Vista Chkdsk

Question

• I am having problems running chkdsk in a vista tablet PC. This does not appear to be my problem alone, but other tablet PCs have similar problems.

When running chkdsk c: /f from an elevated command promt, vista indicates it will run chkdsk on reboot, but never does.

Running CHkdsk /f does not set the dirty bit. I can set it manually with fsutil, and chkdsk still does not run on reboot.

The problem is also happening to other tablet PC users. http://www.futurehardware.in/401861.htm is a url reflecting this.

I am an administrator on the PC, am running the command from an elevated privilidge command prompt.

I can run chkdsk from the repair console (from the original Vista disk). This is very frustrating.

PC is a fujitsu 4210 convertible tablet PC. 2 gigs ram, 80 gig hard disk, intel dual core 1.8 cpu. avg anti virus, running Ultimate VIsta installed from the released CD from Fujitsu.

Sunday, May 20, 2007 3:45 PM

All replies

• I confirm that I am having the same issue. However, Vista was preloaded on my computer and I have no Vista boot CD / DVD so cannot use your workaround.
    Tuesday, July 10, 2007 5:11 PM
  • I'm having the same issue on a Dell E1505 Vista laptop running Vista32 Home Premium.  Very frustrating indeed.  I can't even run chkdsk from the partition properties | tools menu for the C: partition.  My account has admin privs, and I've disabled UAC, still nada.  :-(

Regards,

Margaret

Saturday, September 15, 2007 2:42 AM
  •  

Microsoft Hotfix

This update resolves an issue that prevents chkdsk.exe from running at system boot.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=099121E9-FCAA-4039-818D-2BE8AD09C05E&displaylang=en

Tuesday, September 18, 2007 9:01 PM
  • That hotfix is marked as "Windows XP Home and Professional Edition Patch: NTFS chkdsk.exe Update" and was released in February 2002.

Wednesday, September 19, 2007 1:26 AM