none
Windows 7 USB pendrive access denied

Question

• If I try to read any file on any pendrive or usb disk I get Access denied.  I can do nothing, not even view in a text editor.  I have no issue in safe mode, all works correctly.  Note I can view an autorun.inf file on one USB in a text editor but that's it.

• I've checked the permissions which are set to EVERYONE and I'm an administrator.
    • I've turned off the firewall
    • I've tried to create a new file but get access denied
    • I can create a new folder and a new folder inside that but can't create or paste a file into the folders.  The new folders are created read only and I can't turn that off (right click properties, uncheck read only, next time I look read only again)
    • I've been in registry and USBSTOR is set to 3
    • I've enabled a full administrator and tried to access the files from that account but there is no change (net user administrator /active:yes)
    • I've tried bit bit locker - nothing is locking the files
    • I've tried take ownership - no change
    • I've tried to look at the task manager for some process starting when a USB drive is inserted but can't see anything
    • I've checked the USB drives on other windows and Linux machines and they all function correctly.

I've run out of things to find on the web.  It's a Dell precision laptop.  I do everyone MS update and I did run AVG tuneup and while ago and run AVG 2014 internet security.  I don't know when it stopped working as I now backup to dropbox

If anybody has any other suggestions I would appreciate it greatly

• Edited by SimonButt Tuesday, November 26, 2013 9:32 AM
    Tuesday, November 26, 2013 9:27 AM

Answers

• Hi Balaji

I'm not entirely sure why the autorun file on one of the pendrives was readable, it might have been the fact that it's a very small file.  The Malwarebytes was previously run and I'm fairly sure that it wasn't a malware issue.