none
Eclipse for new Windows 8 computer.

Question

• The Microsoft Answers community referred me to you.
    I just bought a new HP laptop with Windows 8. I am an amateur Java programmer (Took "Java 101"!) and up to now I have been coding basic private Java application programs using Eclipse 2.1 on Windows XP and am ready to download a new Eclipse editor. I presume I will also need to download the proper Java Runtime Environment (or maybe a JDK?). The question is what version for both of them. I don't necessarily need the latest, but those that are most compatible with Windows 8 and will download, install and run, hopefully without a glitch. I have read it will have to run in Window's desktop and that a 32 bit java is advisable (?).
    Would Eclipse Classic be the closest to what I had before? 
    To sum it up:
    Eclipse compatible with Windows 8: What version? 64-bit or is 32-bit advisable?
    JRE compatible with Eclipse and Windows 8: What version? 64-bit or 32-bit?
    I presume that Eclipse already has a JDK, so would there be any advantage in installing the Oracle JDK and if so, again, what version? 64-bit or 32-bit
    Johan
    jrbecb@comcast.net
    Friday, May 17, 2013 5:07 PM

Answers

• Just go to eclipse.org and download whatever recent version for Java development. The site will detect Windows and will automatically offer downloads for Windows. Several versions/flavors of Eclipse can be installed side by side, you can try all of them and keep what you like best.

And finally... Eclipse.org has their own forum, to which you are referred right now :)

-- pa

Friday, May 17, 2013 6:05 PM