none
Screen resolution keeps reverting back to default settings

Question

• My problem is that my screen resolution keeps reverting back to the original settings, from 1920 x 1080 back to 1600 x 900.  I also get a pop-up recommendation that I adjust the screen settings. 

I have a brand new Gateway SX-280107e desktop computer with Windows 7. 

I have a new Samsung SyncMaster B2330 monitor. 

This problem has existed since I first plugged it in, so it can't be any recent programs I have installed, and there is no point in restoring back to a time before this started happening.

There is no real pattern for when it reverts: it often reverts back after it has been idle for awhile, but it sometimes just reverts back after only a few minutes of idle time.  I'd prefer not to turn off my screen savers, so this is not a good solution.

Any help with this very frustrating problem would be greatly appreciated.

Thursday, November 18, 2010 7:20 AM

Answers

• Hi,

I suspect that the driver may not support the high screen resolution. I suggest you could take the following steps to check it:

1.    Please go to Gateway website to download the newest driver for your computer.

Gateway Support - Drivers, Software and Firmware Updates

Please Note: Since the website is not hosted by Microsoft, the link may change without notice. Microsoft does not guarantee the accuracy of this information.

2.    If it is possible, please test this issue on another Windows 7 computer by the same monitor.

Hope it helps.

Alex Zhao

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.
    Monday, November 22, 2010 10:53 AM

All replies

• Hi,

I suspect that the driver may not support the high screen resolution. I suggest you could take the following steps to check it: