none
Error 1068: the dependency service or group failed to start. - Buisness Enviroment

Question

• Hello there,
    I am a Systems Engineer trying to find a fix for the 1068 error: the dependency service or group failed to start
    I have looked at all the forums and previous posts with people having similar issues but none of the fixes have worked.
    Resetting the TCP/IP stack has not fixed this issue & neither has system restore.
    My issue has happened on 3 machines and the only connection I can find is when you connect Windows 7 Professional to a Widows 2003 Domain.
    There seems to be little documentation on weather you need to upgrade the domain controllers from 2003 to 2008 before attempting to add Windows 7 into the domain.
    The corruption seems to start once the machine is on the domain and Windows attempts to install any program or run windows updates which is becoming very frustrating.
    I have created multiple hard drive clones so i can revert back to a working state to aid me when trying to work around this.
    With these Issues outstanding I can not think about upgrading the network from XP & 2003 until these issues are fixed.
    Can someone else let me know if they have had a similar problem when trying to upgrade there environment to Windows 7 and server 2008
    Regards
    Anton James
    Thursday, April 21, 2011 2:03 PM

Answers

• Hi Anton,

Did Windows 7 joined the domain? Have you narrowed down which service failed with error 1068? The error code indicates one service's dependency service or system component fails to start.

I suggest checking the following services first.

Check service

----------------------

1. Click Start, type Services.msc in Start Search bar, and then press Enter.

2. In the right pane, double-click Microsoft Network Inspection.

3. In the Startup type list, click Automatic, click Apply, click Start, and then click OK.

4. Also check the following services.

Function Discovery Resource Publication