none
Vista not recognizing .exe files for Final Fantasy XI.

Question

• I apologize in advance for the long post.

This started when I just bought Final Fantasy XI. I go to install the game and find out that PlayOnline isn't compatable with this OS. (I'm working on a laptop w/ Windows Vista basic btw)

I go to PlayOnline's website and they have a program available to make it compatible. I download it (.exe file) and go to install it and....it says it doesn't recognize the file type. I go in to see what pre-installed programs would be best to do iIt  and discover .exe isn't even a recognized file type!

The error message I keep recieving says:
    .exe not a valid Win32 application

Oddly it's only doing this with the Final Fantasy XI .exe files. I installed Belarc Advisor with no problems!

I just want to play this stupid game! Any ideas on how to go about making Vista recognize .exe files? I'm relatively new to going deep into systems to try and fix problems so the simpler the solution the better. ^_^

This is just one of many numerous problems I've been having....(uninstall won't work, cursor keeps migrating when I type etc etc)

Thanks a bunch!

Monday, November 19, 2007 10:40 PM

Answers

• Hello,

Thank you for posting!

Analysis

I’ve checked the problem you described and performed a test.

I downloaded the compatibility program from the following website:

http://www.playonline.com/ff11us/download/media/vista01.html?pageID=media

Note: If the program above is not the one you described, please ignore the following words and tell me the right downloading address.

Though I didn’t have a Final Fantasy XI installed in my computer, the application (Windows Vista-compatible version of the PlayOnline Viewer) is installed well in my Windows Vista-based PC without the error prompt. Accordingly, I don’t think that is a compatibility issue.

Solution