none
Windows 7, IPsec and my ignorance

Question

• I am an Industrial Automation engineer. I am faced with a situation where I have multiple Windows 7 enterprise boxes on the plant floor that are using the enterprise network. These boxes are not apart of the enterprise domain, have an assigned subnet, and fixed IPs. These boxes must be protected from the genereal enterprise network traffic and allowed to communicate with specific boxes (some are Windows 7 VM's, some are Windows 7 real machines and some are not computers but PLC and the like) in and out of the specific subnet. The needed traffic needs to be integrity protected and in some cases encrypted even though it is all within the Intranet. I must do this within the Windows 7 machines only as I have no active directory/server capabilities. I am cmd/vba/vbs/wsh/netsh/powershell 1/2/3 fluent.

I have set up an isolated  virtual network with two Windows 7 enterprise VM's in VMware workstation 9 on my lab machine (aka sandbox). I have been experimenting with the firewall settings at group policy level (via gpedit.msc). As an added verification I am using a third linux VM with Backtrack to sniff the traffic and pen test.

Here are the steps I have completed so far:
    1. All firewall capability disabled and verified connection between the two Windows 7 machines and ease of penetration. 
    2. Enabled the firewalls and set them to block ALL traffic to verify no communication between the two machines and impossibility of penetration.
    3. Firewalls enabled but allowing connection between the two boxes by IP. I verified comms and lack of datastream encryption and vulnerability to man in the middle.
    4. Firewalls enabled but allowing connection between the two boxes by preshared key. I verified comms and datastream encryption and hardening to man in the middle.
    5. SSL certs: I cannot get this to work. I am at a loss.