none
Vista can't find its hardware drivers, Most usb devices won't install

Question

• Hi all, until last night everything was ok. After I'd cleaned the computer and plugged everything back in windows decides it can't find drivers for any of my usb devices (keyboard, mouse, camera, gamepad, joystick).

When it finds them it says new hardware found. with 3 choices:
    Locate and install driver
    Ask me again later
    Don't show this message again

So I click the first option, and it searches for drivers but...'Could not find driver software'. I then click 'Check online for a solution' with no luck.

These devices are so basic that the manufacturers don't supply drivers for the products; they should all be with the OS.

What can I do guys? I'm a keen photographer and not being able to upload my photos via the camera or card reader is a real issue for me.

By the way the above process happens for all the usb hardware I have except the printer, usb flash drive, mouse and keyboard (luckily!)
    Sunday, May 13, 2007 6:41 PM

All replies

• Unbelievable....I have the same sort of issue with my Vista Ultimate machine. New fresh install, but 99% of my USB devices will not work with the excuse of "Can’t find Drivers" Vista is meant to be a step forward from XP..All my USB devices work under XP!!!

I have read on other froums about copying driver files (usbstor.sys) from an XP machine and pointing the device at that but don’t see why I should need to go to this extent just to get my external HD working under Vista when it was and still is fine under XP.

If anyone has manager to work this out, please let me know.

Tuesday, June 05, 2007 10:27 AM
  • Hi Guys,

I also have a similar problem.  All USB devices worked fine on the first install of Vista.

For one time, I removed the USB device and started up Vista.  That is when the problem started occuring for me.