none
Error: 0xE0000100

Question

• Windows installation encountered an unexpected error. Verify that the installation sources are accessible, and restart the installation.

This error i got 2 times when trying to install Windows 7 as an upgrade to Windows XP SP2. I tried a fresh boot and it just hung at a blue screen and did nothing. Looks to me as If this new OS needs alot more work before any release is offered. This is my first time as a beta tester for windows.

Whats the problem?
    Thursday, January 15, 2009 4:06 AM

Answers

• Hi Daggles,
    W7 installation has no problems if your hardware is right or your downloaded ISO image is burned right
    My first suggestion will be to check you hardware and if everything is Ok you can than try to burn the image in the slowest way which is possible, I am sure it should work fine once you check this steps,

Do not give up, you will love W7 and please do not forget , BETA means the software will have lot of work before it comes ready for sale :)
    Thursday, January 15, 2009 4:32 AM

All replies

• Hi Daggles,
    W7 installation has no problems if your hardware is right or your downloaded ISO image is burned right
    My first suggestion will be to check you hardware and if everything is Ok you can than try to burn the image in the slowest way which is possible, I am sure it should work fine once you check this steps,

Do not give up, you will love W7 and please do not forget , BETA means the software will have lot of work before it comes ready for sale :)
    Thursday, January 15, 2009 4:32 AM
  • I had this same error, tried re-burning, didn't help.  What did the trick was deleting the existing Windows Vista partition as well as some other Dell installed partitions and then running setup again.  Of course I had to do the partition cleanup from another OS install.  I suppose if fdisk was on the Windows 7 DVD then you could do it that way. 

Overall it sounds a lot like this issue in Vista.