none
Media Center hangs at downloading TV setup data

General discussion

• I'm running Win7 64bit and I have a Pinnacle PCTV 800i tuner card installed using vista 64 drivers. I did wait for Win7 to find the drivers for the card with no success before I used the vista drivers. It is working fine and I currently have it attached to my roof top antenna until I run a new comcast line to it. The problem is that when I go to the media center TV setup, all I get is downloading TV setup data, it just sits there, no error codes, no can't find signal or tuner card, nothing. I've tried different zip codes with still no results. After 30 minutes its still the same. Please, any help would be appreciated, I must be missing something basic. I am a noob to the Media Center. Thanks
    Tuesday, February 17, 2009 1:21 AM

All replies

• Hi scrubz:

Were you able to receive over-the-air signals with your current tuner in XP or Vista?  If so,  could you have changed the lead-in cable to the wrong input on the tuner in anticipation of installing your Comcast cable?  Is your PC correctly connected to your phone or cable line so that downloads are possible. Did you check in Device Manager for any hardware that might need a different driver? Did Win7 say it could see your tuner and describe the right tuner?  Could your router firewall be blocking Media Center's attempts to go online?  Could your anti-virus software have a firewall blocking Media Center from going online? 

Did you install the 64-bit tuner drivers in Vista compatibility mode:

Right click driver setup package, and choose "Properties"> Choose “Compatibility” tab>Enable “Run this program in compatibility mode for”, choose “Windows Vista”>try to reinstall the driver again.

Wednesday, February 18, 2009 3:34 AM
  •  Hi Newnerd,

Here are my answers and attempts in order to your suggestions:

Yes I am able to receive signals in XP Pro and it does work in Win 7 using pinnacle's interface. (I didn't go with Vista)