none
Windows Movie Maker - unable to capture from sony handycam

Question

• I am using Sony Handycam DCR-HC2 camcoder and my laptop is sony vaio vgn-nr160e. Before upgrading to windows 7, I was able to capture home made movie with Click to DVD program via i-link cable with vista home.

From the time I update to Windows 7, I am unable to capture home movies. Presently I am using windows movie maker 2.6. When I connect my handycam to laptop with i-link, it won't reconize.

Please some one guide me, we are planning a 2 week vacation and I am going crazy with this issued ( I am an avg tech guy, not a expt)
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 4:41 AM

Answers

• I have

Windows 7 RC
    Sony handycam DCR-TRV19
    Sony iLink cable
    Full Windows Live package installed

and have had similar results.

With the Sony cable (verses a 4 pin to 4 pin cable) I do get DV IN on the camera when I connect.

But in device manager it does not show up under IEEE or as an Image Device :-(

That's as far as I have gotten. Hoping someone can find the little nugget to get this going.
    Hi

Here are a couple of links that may help.

Sony eSupport - Digital Camcorders

Sony eSupport - DCR-TRV19 - Support

Hope this helps.

Thank You for testing Windows 7

Ronnie Vernon MVP
    Wednesday, July 15, 2009 9:31 AM

All replies

• Is I-link the same as a Fire wire ? If so you need to install Windows Live Photo Gallery and then it will recognize and import from your Digi-Cam
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 5:56 AM
  • steam -

Yes. I have a different model Sony Handicam - and iLink is the Sony branded name for firewire - aka IEEE 1394.
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 1:46 PM
  • Have you installed Live Photo Gallery? I know it's odd but the Firewire import feature is a part of photo gallery this time around.
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 8:28 PM
  • Steam -