none
Move/Recover Offscreen Window

Question

• Hello,
    I am running win7 rc 64bit build 7100 in Dual monitor mode. I have a problem finding/moving an applications window that has gone out of the viewing area. I am new to Vista/Win 7 interface and not familiar with how to move a window with the arrow keys as I do with XP by right clicking on the running application in the taskbar and selecting Move.

The application is Sony ebook reader. This happened when I had to remove one of the dual monitors for repair...upon returning it to the configuration, the ebook application starts, but the window is no where on either display. If I right click on the running application in the taskbar, there are no options to move.

Other then removing the application, prefs and reinstalling...is there a way to bring that window back to the active areas?

Thanks.
    • Edited by psc_tech Thursday, August 06, 2009 5:26 PM
    Thursday, August 06, 2009 2:49 PM

Answers

• Windows 7 has a cool new feature that should help.  Click the icon in the taskbar to ensure that the program has focus. Then hold down the Windows key and press the right-arrow a few times. That should move the window across your screens and eventually bring it back onto the screen that is still active.
    Dave Bishop
    Senior Technical Writer
    Windows Server Networking User Assistance
    Thursday, August 06, 2009 9:27 PM

All replies

• Windows 7 has a cool new feature that should help.  Click the icon in the taskbar to ensure that the program has focus. Then hold down the Windows key and press the right-arrow a few times. That should move the window across your screens and eventually bring it back onto the screen that is still active.
    Dave Bishop
    Senior Technical Writer
    Windows Server Networking User Assistance
    Thursday, August 06, 2009 9:27 PM
  • Perfect...Thank you Dave...that did it...and yes...cool feature too!
    • Proposed as answer by kuthodsapon Thursday, July 25, 2013 7:07 AM