none
No Bootable Device After Attempt to Repair Windows Startup Problem

Question

• I have been reading all over the internet about my certain problem, but can't seem to find the precise answer to it. I'd like to think I'm rather computer savvy but this one has me stumped as I am an XP Pro user.

My girlfriend was on her computer, and suddenly Firefox stopped working for her. So as she loaded up Internet Explorer and as her page was loading, the computer froze. After shutting it down improperly, her windows stopped working. After a long time, it would load to the "Windows" loading screen, and freeze, eventually shutting down and restarting. I tried using f8 and going to the repair center, but that wouldn't work. I then tried all the safe modes, which froze. After that I tried every other option in the f8 troubleshooting mode, and none would load.

After that I acquired the Windows 7 Recovery Disc. It worked, slowly, and as I got to the "System Recovery Options" screen where you choose your OS, I clicked on Windows 7 and continued. From there I did the "Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool," as I assumed she had used up too much space on her hard drive for windows to load. It took nearly 6 hours to finish. Once it finished, it told me to restart, and it would either be fixed, or I would have to run more diagnostics.

After I restarted the computer, without the recovery disc (checking to see if it would work), I was prompted with "no bootable device insert boot disk and press any key." It seems the memory diagnostic tool managed to make the hard drive and OS invisible to the bios. I then put the recovery disc back in, and as I got to the screen where you choose the OS, there was nothing there.

From there I clicked on "Load Drivers" and was prompted with "insert the installation media for the device and click ok to select the driver." I found out soon you can just press next to get to the main screen, but most of the diagnostics don't work when an OS is not chosen.