none
How do i dual-boot?

Вопрос

• So windows 8 consumer preview finally landed and i really wanna check it out. 
    I downloaded it and its ready to go. 

But i don't wanna replace my OS or Upgrade it 
    This is a beta OS and theirs bound to be problems with it so i want the option to return to win7. 

I've never done a dual boot before.
    Can anyone explain how this works? 
    How do i install, How do i boot, How do i switch between them and how do uninstall it if i don't like it? 

Will i need a extra HDD? Would a external HDD work?

Please help 

Edit: I have over 500gb of content on my external tho. Would i be dangerous creating a partition on it for the preview?

• Изменено Austin S 2 марта 2012 г. 23:26
    2 марта 2012 г. 23:13

Ответы

• Hi,

I'll try and explain it as easily as possible:

• You cannot use an external HDD.
    • You also won't need another HDD, but if you have one then use that.
    • If you have one HDD then you will have to create another NTFS format partition for Windows 8. (I'm assuming you know how to do that)
    • Make sure to burn Windows 8 onto a DVD.
    • Insert the DVD and boot from it. Note: you may have to change a setting or two in the computer's BIOS to enable booting from the DVD.
    • Once you have booted from the DVD you will see the Windows 8 CP Setup screens: Language, Time/Currency format, Keyboard etc...
    • After all that: click on "Install Now". Setup will start, a License Agreement window should popup, if you agree to the terms, click Accept and in the next screen click on "Custom (Advanced)".
    • Select the new partition created for Windows 8 CP and click "Next".

Windows 8 CP installation will begin and may restart several times before finally completing, so ignore the "Press any key to boot from CD/DVD....." message.

You can select which OS you would like to boot in everytime you restart your PC, you can also select which OS to set as the default OS to boot in.

Hope this helps.

Preveen