none
Server / Network Configuration Advice Needed (VPN/Firewall/User Control/Internet Access/etc)

General discussion

• Description

I am a novice when it comes to server and network configuration, and trying to learn as much as I can. I know there must be many ways to achieve what I want to do. The way I land up doing it will more than likely not be ideal, but I am looking for a solution that is "good enough" for me with my limited resources. I have a small business and I need to set up my servers to cater for the following:

• VPN Access from outside - when connected, users should still be able to browse unrestricted internet which is not channeled through the VPN
    • User access control - to control who can access certain network drives/folders etc. (currently I have configured as workgroup, and not domain)
    • File server - to have a central repository for simple document storage
    • Gateway / firewall - to protect the private network from public attack. All internet access provided from within the private network should be routed through a gateway so that traffic can be monitored, web filtering etc.
    • Hyper-V - I have a few virtual servers running various applications

So the question is, how many server instances will I need, or can I do everything on one instance? (e.g. do I need a dedicated VPN server, file server, AD server, firewall server, etc? or can I have all these features on one server?)

Environment

1 physical desktop PC used as server

8GB ram

Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard SP1

Intel Core  2 Quad 2.5Ghz

Currently set up as workgroup

2 network cards

2 wireless modem/routers (one can be used as an access point)

My current setup is as follows:

Internet ==> Firewall Router ==> Private Workgroup Network -->Host Server / VPS1 / VPS2 / VPS3 / Laptops / etc.

Once the VPN is set up none of the servers must be exposed directly to the public internet.

I will highly appreciate any feedback given.

Thanks