none
RD Connection Broker Load Balancing

Question

• A brief explanation of our setup:

RDS Farm with 6 RDS servers (RDS1 - 6) load-balanced via round robin in DNS

2 RD Gateway Servers (RDG1 - 2) load-balanced via round robin in DNS; both of which have the RD Connection Broker service installed and running

Clients connect to rdsfarm.domain.com via rdg.domain.com

I am new to the company as a system administrator and trying to improve the availability of our RDS Farm for our remote users; the vast majority of the company's employees use RDS to gain access to the resources internal to the network.  One of the things I am noticing is that in the RD Session Host Configuration for each of the RDS Farm member servers is that while they are properly setup to join a Farm via the FQDN of rdsfarm.domain.com, they are all pointed to a single RD Connection Broker server (rdg1.domain.com).  I would think that the RD Connection Broker server specification would be similar to the Farm server specification in which you use the FQDN of the Connection Broker farm vice a single connection broker.

I could experiment by changing this setting on a couple of RDS servers, however, being the new guy, I don't want to change something and end up breaking it when this is a critical business resource for the company; I would like to keep my job.  So looking to see if anyone else has experience with a setup similar to ours (load-balanced Gateway/Connection Brokers PLUS load-balanced RDS Server Farm) and what the correct configuration should be for the Connection Broker server in the Session Host Configuration for each of the RDS servers.

I have searched the net high and low and have found plenty of information from Microsoft and other forums on how to setup and configure a load-balanced farm but I have yet to find anything that describes a load-balanced Gateway/Connection Broker setup.

Your help and responses is much appreciated in advance.  Thank you.

Sincerely,

Carey