none
Cannot access remote registry!

Question

• I have four windows DCs, 2x2000 Std; 1x2003 Std (Master), 1x2008 Ent

I am able to remotly access the registry of all the DC except the 2003. I have tried manually connecting via regedit but it gives me an "Unable to connect..." error. Likewise our new Exchange 2007 installation is throwing errors like "Active Directory server: Registry cannot be accessed".

I have managed to determine that there is an issue with WMI
    "Failed to initialize all required WMI classes."
    Win32_Processor: WMI: Access denied
    Win32_OperatingSystem: WMI: Access denied

I am new to this sort of problem and so have little to no experience with group policy or permissions. Below are the current group policy settings for the 2003 master and 2008 DC.

From the server that cannot be accessed
    Default Domain Security Settings
    2003: Local Policies\User Rights Assignment\Access this computer from the network\{Not Defined}
    2008: Local Policies\User Rights Assignment\Access this computer from the network\{Not Defined}

Default Domain Controller Security Settings
    2003: Local Policies\User Rights Assignment\Access this computer from the network\{administrators;auth users;everyone;etc web users...}
    2008: Local Policies\User Rights Assignment\Access this computer from the network\{Not Defined}
    (Have tried adding administrators; and auth users to 2008 manually without success)

Local Computer Policy
    2003: Local Policies\User Rights Assignment\Access this computer from the network\{administrators; auth users; ent domain controllers; everyone;  etc web users...}

I know they are different becuase they are not replicating becuase the registry on the 2003 box cannot be accessed but how do I fix this?

Thanks
    Thursday, March 27, 2008 7:09 PM

Answers

• Yeah, I checked that remote registry service was running, there were not error in the event viewer either.