none
PS script to extract samAccountName, Name, Title and Department from username

Question

• I am very new to PS, so please bear with my ignorance.

I am able to individually run these to get results but don't know how to stitch them together:
    Get-ADUser username -properties samAccountName, Name, Title, Department
    Get-ADGroupMember groupname | Select-Object name

How do I go about creating a script that queries a AD group to find its members' samAccountName, Name, Title and Department?

Once I get an extract, I need to change users' Title and Department. How do I update AD with the revised info?

Friday, January 14, 2011 2:50 AM

Answers

• Thanks! I used this and it worked:
    PS C:\> Get-ADGroupMember -Identity dls_contoso_staff -Recursive | Get-ADObject -Properties Name, Title, Department |Format-Table Name, Title, Department >c:\software\ur.csv

This also works:
    PS C:\> Get-ADGroupMember GROUP_NAME -Recursive | select-object saMAccountName, Name| format-table -autosize

• Marked as answer by ITAdminTO Friday, January 14, 2011 9:58 PM
    • Edited by ITAdminTO Tuesday, January 18, 2011 8:40 PM
    Friday, January 14, 2011 2:32 PM

All replies

• For your first question you can pipe the one command into the other. For example:

Get-ADGroupMember -Identity MyGroup | Get-ADUser -Properities sAMAccountName, Name, Title, Department

You may want to use Format-Table to format the results. Also, errors will be raised if any of the members are not users. You can use Get-ADObject instead.

For your second question, do you have a list of users to be modified, or all users, or all members of a group? And does everyone get the same Title and Department?

Richard  Mueller

MVP ADSI
    Friday, January 14, 2011 3:46 AM
  • Hi,

Thanks for posting in Microsoft TechNet forums.

As I understand that you want to update the user information in Active Directory. You could try the following scripts:

##Get the user names from the Group.