none
How to setup Remote Desktop in Windows 2008 server? (step by step)

Question

• do we still need to setup a separate terminal server line in windows SBS 2011 in Windows 2008 Server standard?
    Saturday, March 02, 2013 5:37 PM

Answers

All replies

• Is this for administrative purposes or are you using the full terminal server? If it's just administrative, enable remote desktop in Server Manager and it should automatically open up the firewall ports for RDP (if you still have problems after this, just check it did actually open up port 3389 (RDP)).

If full Term Services someone else may be able to help as I have no previous experience with this myself (I'm a Citrix XenDesktop person myself).

Saturday, March 02, 2013 9:55 PM
  • Following articles might help

WS 2008 TS Step by Step - http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc754288(v=ws.10).aspx

WS 2008 R2 TS Step by Step - http://blogs.msdn.com/b/rds/archive/2009/07/07/new-step-by-step-guides-available-for-remote-desktop-services.aspx

Regards, Santosh

I do not represent the organisation I work for, all the opinions expressed here are my own.

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees and confers no rights.

Whenever you see a helpful reply, click on Alternate Text Vote As Helpful & click on Alternate Text Mark As Answer if a post answers your question.

Sunday, March 03, 2013 5:23 AM
  • Do we still need to setup a separate terminal server machine running Windows 2008 Server standard in Windows SBS 2011 which is our Primary DC?