none
Cluster Disk Reservation

Question

• Hello,

I'm new to setup a cluster environment.

I've created a shared lun and have mapped it into my hyper-v host, now in both server the disk is available but as i added that disk on the cluster storage from the server , one server (HV1SRV is my hostname) shows the disk as reserved so that i'm not able to load balance the Virtual machines as per the free server resources.

My requirement is as follows:

I've two physical server, in each i would like to have four virtual machines and for these VM's it should use single disk to save its vhd files.

Saturday, March 24, 2012 8:22 AM

Answers

• Create the virtual machine from failover cluster manager.  Make sure you select a location on the CSV to store the virtual machine.  Create a new virtual machine:

Check the "store virtual macine in a different location" and use a path that is on your CSV. If you don't do this, the configuration ends up stored on the node you created the virtual machine on.

• Marked as answer by Abdul-Razak Sunday, March 25, 2012 12:14 AM
    Saturday, March 24, 2012 10:31 PM

All replies

• If you want more than one node of the Hyper-v cluster to access the disk at the same time, instead of a traditional clustered disk resource with a drive letter, you need to create a Cluster Shared Volume.  To do that, you must first enable cluster shared volumes on you hyper-v cluster.

In failover cluster manager, click once on the name of the cluster in the left hand pane.  In the center pane you'll see a hyperlink (third one down) that's titled "Eable Cluster Shared Volumes..."  Click that to enable CSVs.  Then, instead of adding a shared disk, add a cluster shared volume.  In the left pane, right click "Cluster Shared Volumes" and select add storage ...

Saturday, March 24, 2012 9:28 AM
  • http://www.aidanfinn.com/?p=11491 tells you all you need to know about CSV's

MCITP SA - MCP Active Directory - MCP Infrastructure - MCP Server Virtualization www.it101.eu